Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Chairperson BoM : IIST
  • 11:17 PM, Friday, 15 Dec 2017

Shri A S Kiran Kumar

  • Shri A S Kiran Kumar, Distinguished Scientist (Apex) and Director, Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad, assumed the office of the Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman, Space Commission and Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on January 14, 2015.
  • Shri Kiran Kumar is a highly accomplished space scientist and engineer with a distinguished career spanning over four decades in ISRO in the satellite payload and applications domains.
  • He has made immense contributions to the design and development of Electro-Optical Imaging Sensors for Airborne, Low Earth Orbit and Geostationary Orbit satellites starting from Bhaskara TV payload to the latest Mars Colour Camera, Thermal Infrared Imaging Spectrometer and Methane Sensor for Mars instruments of India’s Mars Orbiter Spacecraft, which has successfully completed one hundred days in Mars Orbit recently.
  • Shri Kiran Kumar was instrumental in evolving the successful strategy for steering the Mars Orbiter Spacecraft towards planet Mars as well as its Mars Orbit Insertion. He has also made significant contributions for evolving the observation strategy encompassing land, ocean, atmospheric and planetary studies.
  • Shri Kiran Kumar is an alumnus of National College, the esteemed educational institution of Bangalore. He obtained his Physics (Honours) Degree from Bangalore University in 1971 and later obtained his Master’s degree in Electronics from the same university in 1973, and thereafter his M.Tech Degree in Physical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1975.
  • Shri Kiran Kumar began his career in ISRO by joining Space Applications Centre (SAC) in 1975. Later, he became its Associate Director and in March 2012 took over as the Director of SAC.
  • At SAC, Shri Kiran Kumar has been steering the design, development & realisation of payloads and application activities of earth observation, communication, navigation, space science and planetary exploration.
  • Shri Kiran Kumar is a recipient of many national and international laurels/awards which include
    • Padma Shri Award conferred by the President of India in 2014.
    • International Academy of Astronautics’ Laurels for Team Achievement Award for Cartosat in 2008 and for Chandrayaan-1 in 2013.
    • Indian Society of Remote Sensing (ISRS) Award for the year 1994.
    • VASVIK award (Electronic sciences and technology) for the year 1998.
    • Astronautical Society of India Award (Space Sciences and Applications) for the year 2001.
    • ISRO Individual Service Award 2006.
    • Bhaskara Award of ISRS in 2007.
    • ISRO Performance Excellence Award 2008.
  • He is a Fellow of professional institutions like
    • Indian National Academy of Engineering
    • Indian Society of Remote Sensing
    • Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineer
    • Indian Meteorological Society
    • International Academy of Astronautics
  • Shri Kiran Kumar has represented ISRO in international forums like World Meteorological Organisation (WMO), Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) and Indo-US Joint Working Group on Civil Space Cooperation.