Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

  • 11:15 PM, Saturday, 23 Jun 2018

Department of Aerospace Engineering
Awards and Honours


Best B.Tech project award in the field of Aerospace Manufacturing

The B.Tech final year project submitted by Mr. Aashish(2012-2016 batch student of Aerospace Engineering Department), on “Design Development and Computational Analysis of A Low Pressure Abrasive Flow Finishing Machine ” supervised by Dr. V.S. Sooraj, Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIST has received the best B.Tech project award in the field of Aerospace Manufacturing,instituted by Society of Aerospace Manufacturing Engineers




Innovative Student Paper Award 2017

Project on “Experimental Investigation of Spray and lame Characteristics in a SwrilStablized Burner” done by Mr. Mahenderan C in the Department of Aerospace Engineering has been selected for conferment of Innovative Student Projects Award 2017 from The Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)




Best Paper Award

Ananti Saroj (B.Tech 2013-2017 Batch, Aerospace Engineering, IIST) has won the award for the ‘Best Paper in Design' for the paper ‘Design of Bio-Inspired Material Using Two Dimensional Probabilistic Fracture Mechanics’ co-authored with her B.Tech project guides, Dr. Anup S. and Dr. Arun C. O. in the 3rd Indian Conference on Applied Mechanics (INCAM) 2017 held at MNNIT, Allahabad during 5– 7 July 2017.



Best Paper Award

Mr.Kiran Mohan was awarded the Best Paper Award for papers titled '' Flow and Shock Structure Development in Planar Expansion Deflection Nozzle" (co-authored with Mr. Vishak Sasidharan, 2nd Year Btech in Aerospace Engr., and Aravind Vaidyanathan) and "Effect of Pintle Shape on Internal Shock Structure of Expansion Deflection Nozzle"( co-authored with Mr. Prabal Munjal,4th Year Btech in Aerospace Engr., and Aravind Vaidyanathan) presented at the 4th National Symposium on Shock Waves held at Karunya University in co-ordination with IISc, Bangalore and National Shock Wave Society.



Student Paper Award

Paper titled "Comparison of Performance and Altitude Compensation Capability of ED Nozzles with Bell Nozzle" by Mr. Kiran Mohan, MTech : Thermal and Propulsion, was awarded the 3rd Prize for Best Student Paper presented in Symposium on Applied Aerodynamics and Design of Aerospace Vehicles (SAROD 2015) conducted at VSSC.




Award for Best Research Paper in Industry- Academia

Paper titled "Numerical and Experimental Evaluation of Performance of Centrifugal Seals" by Mr. Sanand T V, MTech : Thermal and Propulsion, was awarded the Best Research Paper presented in National Conference on Fluid Mechanics and Fluid Power held at National Institute of Technology karnataka, Surathka.